Life in Art…

We were in workshop today, going through some work that was obviously very close to the author, and I began wondering how close something should be to you when you write it.

In a way, I’ve always hidden behind a theme or a different time period so I didn’t have to reveal my whole self. There were parts of me in my writing, obviously, but it wasn’t as though I bleeding onto the page so everyone could see it.

It’s not blatant how my first book was about falling in love for the first time andtypewriter knowing it would never work out.

My second about my sister and the strange, sometimes painful sometimes wonderful relationship we’ve had.

My third developing into falling in love again and the sacrifices we make because we care about someone—even if we know we are never going to see them again and we will get nothing in return.

I sat across from my fiction instructor during our one-on-one conference.

“What do you want to improve?” she asked. “You say you’re stuck in a rut, but why?”

It surprised me completely what words came out of my mouth.

“I want to write something more personal to me.”

For so long, I’ve hidden behind another character, another time period, another situation. I love these stories, and they are a part of me, too. But sometimes, the risk of someone really recognizing me in my work has scared me.

Do you balance somewhere in-between with your work? Or do you express it all on the page? Is the story enough for you, or do you need something more personal? 

♪ Beirut – The Rip Tide – Vagabond ♪

signature

One thought on “Life in Art…

  1. Have you ever considered writing an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog centered on the same subjects you discuss
    and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my audience would appreciate your work.
    If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an email.

Leave a Reply

