Got It All Figured Out (Psh)…

I will admit it. I’m the girl who likes to have things all together. I love being the person who you can always count on to turn things in on time, who always does an excellent job, and can accomplish things effectively and efficiently.

Lately? I haven’t been that person so much.

It’s not that I haven’t been trying. In fact, I’ve been trying a lot—almost a little too hard. There has been so much going on in my life right now, emotionally and mentally, that it has been hard to accomplish things at the degree of excellence I usually try to reach.

My work isn’t my best. My heart isn’t in it. My writing isn’t the same.

And as my own anal, perfectionistic self, I am angry at myself instead of taking a deep breath and realizing I am (once again) setting unrealistic expectations of myself.

I have a novel coming out, I have thirteen or so books to read over the next two weeks for school, plus papers due, I would like to maintain some social life, and I running dangerously low on instant coffee.

No, my work is not going to be as good as it was if I had nothing going on. And I am not going to have as much time to spend on it.

But at some point, I have to realize that I am human. And I can’t accomplish everything one hundred percent all of the time.

I’m trying my best, but that’s all I can do.

books

How do you keep sane when you’re busy?

signature

2 thoughts on “Got It All Figured Out (Psh)…

Leave a Reply

