Learning to Live Fearlessly…

Feare no more the heate o’ th’ Sun, Nor the furious Winters rages…

~ William Shakespeare, Cymbeline, Act 4, Scene 2

I am not a fearless person. I will admit that straight up. I worry a lot. Whether it’s about getting my homework turned in on time or the reviews I am going to get for my book or what’s going to happen after I graduate, I put in my hours thinking about it.

I’ve always wanted to be the type of person who lives fearlessly, though. The type of person who does what they love without a second thought. They don’t care what other people think. They’re just happy doing whatever it is they feel like at the moment.

Don’t get me wrong, there are some positive things about being someone who is conscious about things. I think part of the reason I am who I am today is because I do take the time to think about things and make sure I am not jumping in too quickly. I’m not often in situations I feel are over my head and I choose to make decisions that will ensure than everything turns out okay.

But there’s a difference between making thoughtful, good choices and worrying excessively about them.

I’ve been thinking a lot about fear and why we continue to let it dictate us as a society. We are taught to fear everything—especially as women. Don’t walk in the dark, don’t travel alone, don’t sit by a man on the bus (really?). And while these warnings all have their place, it makes it hard not to live in a fearful world, doesn’t it? If we follow every single rule that people insist we do, we’re living in a bubble…and in that case, we aren’t really living at all.

I’m going to try and start living more fearlessly. You only get one shot at this life you have and to be afraid of it all the time? Well, that certainly seems like a waste, doesn’t it?

What do you think? Do you think there’s a proper balance between worrying and living fearlessly?

12173861462575495_Xr80ZPcQ_c

signature

Leave a Reply

