Shakespeare’s Lady Giveaway!…

I am giving away two signed copies of my new book Shakespeare’s Lady! Two winners will receive one signed copy and a “Juliet Scrabble Necklace” from Something Silver. All you have to do is tell me what your favorite Shakespearean sonnet or play is in the comments section and you will be entered to win.

41xEm0-iJQL._SL500_AA300_photo 

You have one week (April 3rd) to comment and enter before I will randomly pick a number!

Good luck and thanks for stopping by!

signature

14 thoughts on “Shakespeare’s Lady Giveaway!…

  1. i love many but this was the first that popped in my head
    Sonnet 116
    Let me not to the marriage of true minds
    Admit impediments. Love is not love
    Which alters when it alteration finds,
    Or bends with the remover to remove:
    O no! it is an ever-fixed mark
    That looks on tempests and is never shaken;
    It is the star to every wandering bark,
    Whose worth’s unknown, although his height be taken.
    Love’s not Time’s fool, though rosy lips and cheeks
    Within his bending sickle’s compass come:
    Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks,
    But bears it out even to the edge of doom.
    If this be error and upon me proved,
    I never writ, nor no man ever loved.

  2. Sonnet 10 For shame deny that thou bear’st love to any,
    Who for thy self art so unprovident.
    Grant, if thou wilt, thou art beloved of many,
    But that thou none lov’st is most evident:
    For thou art so possessed with murderous hate,
    That ‘gainst thy self thou stick’st not to conspire,
    Seeking that beauteous roof to ruinate
    Which to repair should be thy chief desire.
    O! change thy thought, that I may change my mind:
    Shall hate be fairer lodged than gentle love?
    Be, as thy presence is, gracious and kind,
    Or to thyself at least kind-hearted prove:
       Make thee another self for love of me,
       That beauty still may live in thine or thee.

    It’s one of two sonnets I had to read of his during poetry class and pretty much the only Shakespeare I’ve read

  3. Such a tough choice. I’ve always loved Othello, the tragedy of Desdemona and the perfection of Iago as a literary villain are unparalleled. But I also adore Titus Andronicus: the blood! the horror!

    And of course, if you ask me tomorrow, I’ll probably have changed my mind.

  4. I really don’t know much about any of his plays except Romeo and Juliet (who doesn’t know that one?) and that one about the two rivals that hate marriage and end up falling in love because of a prank their friends pulled. (I saw the movie but can’t remember the title.) Also, the little I know about Twelth Night seems like a really fun story.

  5. I adore Shakespeare’s Hamlet. The plot and characters are amazing! I love how Hamlet and Claudius are, in some respect, polar opposites – where one fails the other prospers.

  6. This is my favourite :
    SONNET 18

    Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?
    Thou art more lovely and more temperate:
    Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May,
    And summer’s lease hath all too short a date:
    Sometime too hot the eye of heaven shines,
    And often is his gold complexion dimm’d;
    And every fair from fair sometime declines,
    By chance or nature’s changing course untrimm’d;
    But thy eternal summer shall not fade
    Nor lose possession of that fair thou owest;
    Nor shall Death brag thou wander’st in his shade,
    When in eternal lines to time thou growest:
    So long as men can breathe or eyes can see,
    So long lives this and this gives life to thee.

  7. Much Ado About Nothing has been and will always be my all time favorite. I fell in love with it as a young preteen/teenager because it was the first Shakespeare that I was exposed to that was accessible to me. I could understand it and thought it was the funniest story I’d ever heard. I’ve read it countless times and own a very well watched copy of the Kenneth Branagh/ Emma Thompson version (both on VHS and DVD).
    My favorite part when I was young was the part when Beatrice spoke of men and beards. It used to make me laugh until I cried as a child because my dad had a full beard and he would always act so offended when we read or watched that part.
    “Lord! I could not endure a husband with a beard on his face: I hath rather lie in the woollen.”
    “He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man.”

Leave a Reply

