Dealing with the Negative…

I received my first-ever one-star review today, which was a bit of a blow. I am a bit of a people pleaser (just a bit?) and so whenever I am the recipient of some sort of negative criticism it takes me a while to think it through. I tend to take it personally (Why don’t they like me?), and then doubt my writing ability (I’m an awful writer! Why did I ever decide to choose this as a career?), and then finally I come to some sort of peace with it.

It’s not easy dealing with criticism, but unfortunately it’s something writers have to deal with every day. The good stuff can send you over the moon, while the bad stuff can send you into the earth’s core if you let it.

One thing I’ve learned is that some opinions you need to take worth a grain of salt. Reviewers rarely know you; people who give you awful criticism often don’t know how hard you worked in putting everything together. There’s a whole lot they do not understand unless they are writers themselves. Readers are important, because they are the ones who open your book and read over every sentence (you so laboriously crafted), but if writing was easy, we would have more Hemingways than we would know what to do with.

From my first-ever one-star review, I’m taking a positive approach (after my two steps of personal doubt). Even if all I learn is that I need to value my own opinion more, I feel like it’s a step in the right direction.

How do you deal with negative criticism?

♪ Horse Feathers – House With No Home – A Burden ♪

signature

One thought on “Dealing with the Negative…

  1. This is something that I am not looking forward to. When the reviews come out for my book, I’m going to have to just keep in mind that not everyone is going to like it. That’s just how it’s going to be. I will get negative reviews, everyone does. But those aren’t the ones that I need to pay attention to – sure, you can learn from them. Such as if a person thinks that your characters should have been more developed. But the ones that we really need to focus on are the positive reviews. And, unless you’re just a horrible writer with an equally awful story, you most likely will have more positive reviews than negative. Besides, authors aren’t writing the book for the people who won’t like it, but for those who will. So in the end, those positive reviews will be the only ones that matter. =)

Leave a Reply

