Tonight at 6 pm PST…

I’m chatting with editor BJ Taylor, Hartline Agency, and author Amanda Dykes about “discoverability” as a writer on Twitter tonight. The hashtag is #faithlitchat. Come say hi!

What questions do you have about being discovered as an author?

bird

(P.S. I’m giving away two ebook copies of Shakespeare’s Lady from August 27th to September 24th. All you have to do is leave a comment on my blog between those two dates and you will be entered in a drawing to win a free copy!)

♪ The Avett Brothers – The Carpenter – February Seven ♪

signature

4 thoughts on “Tonight at 6 pm PST…

  1. I’ll be there!

    Questions: When did you first realize you wanted to be an author? Did you imagine getting published so young? How did you react when you saw your book in print for the first time?

    • Hey, Tessa! 🙂

      I would say I kind of always knew that I wanted to be an author, and no, I didn’t imagine I would be published so young. I was all set on being very realistic about the publishing industry and the percentage of works that publishing houses actually accept for publication. (So depressingly small.) I was surprised when it happened to me.

      And, quite honestly, it still hasn’t hit me that my dream has come true and the book is out there. I’m still the same person–for better or worse.

      Looking forward to reading yours when it comes out! 🙂

  2. Coolness, hope I can be entered in the drawing for your book? Although I have no idea what day it is in Sept!

    I love Amanda, and I’m interested in her Hope Chronicles project.

    Discoverability. Does that mean when someone times your name on Bing, you pop up? My name is in there. I would hope and dream that if/when my book gets pubbed, when people typed in LEIF EIRIKSSON or VIKINGS or GUDRID they might find a link to my blog. But I think the book would have to be a huge success to do that.

    I do think you can push and publicize yourself like a fiend, but until you have a book to offer, your platform becomes sort of static. Once pubbed, the people come looking for YOU! (Then you go into hiding, like Stephenie Meyer).

    Great blog!

    • Thanks for stopping by! And of course you’re entered in!

      I think that’s an interesting way to look at discoverability. At what point do you need to back off and let your platform stand? Obviously, it would take several landings on the New York Times Bestseller List, but eventually there is a point where you can probably focus less on publicity.

      Thanks again for saying hi!

Leave a Reply

