Yes, I Am a Masochist (A Post on Ulysses)…

Sometimes, I wonder very much about my sanity.

Now that I think about it, there’s very little pay-off for writing a thesis-length paper on Joyce’s Ulysses. I can’t even pin it on anyone else. It was completely my own idea. I wasn’t even forced at gun point.

I guess the pay-off is simply that I will force myself into a state of confusion. I’ve chosen to highlight the mythological aspects of the book. I started thinking about it as solely connected to Greek mythology, but then it became clear there is Irish mythology involved (dur). So that, and I really know nothing about Joyce himself.

This really has no point other than to warn students to keep their ambition in-check. There’s a fine line between working hard at school and being crazy.

“A man of genius makes no mistakes. His errors are volitional and are the portals of discovery.”

~James Joyce

Have you ever immersed yourself in a project you thought was too big for you? Did it work out?

♪ Neutral Milk Hotel – In the Aeroplane Over the Sea – Oh Comely ♪

signature

4 thoughts on “Yes, I Am a Masochist (A Post on Ulysses)…

  1. If you can, read Ellmann’s bio. I’m not usually a big fan of biography, but it’s fascinating (if you’re pressed for time–and who isn’t–you can stop once Joyce finishes writing Ulysses 🙂 He’s a bit of a Joyce worshipper, but it’s still the best place to start for info about our man Jim. And Gifford’s annotations. My copy is about to wear through. Good luck. You can do this– it’s a good topic. And you can always restrict it to either Greek or Irish mythology if it gets too huge and you need to make it more manageable.

    • Hey, Barb! That’s so weird. Guess what biography I’m currently reading?

      Thanks so much for the encouragement. Means a lot.

Leave a Reply

