Living in the Present…

I don’t know about you guys, but I have the hardest time enjoying the moment that I am in.

Sometimes my mind dips and dives into the past, probably remembering things as better than they actually were. (I seem to forget some miserable times last year when I was adjusting to a new school and a new place, but now that I look back it all seems so wonderful.) More often, however, I’m always thinking to some grand future I am going to have. I always imagine that I will have everything in place, and it will all be perfect, and I’m never really content being where I am because there’s this perfect future ahead of me that I just haven’t…quite… reached.

It’s a little bit ungrateful, really.

Because if I look at my life right now, I’m near one of the most amazing cities in the world, I’m reading books and learning (my favorite things), I’m writing (okay, my favorite thing), and drinking an enormous amount of caffeinated beverages amongst the changing New England leaves. That doesn’t sound bad at all, does it?

And it was my idea of my “grand future” only a few months ago.

Do you live in the present? How do you do it?

Oh, and I was interviewed by the wonderful Bekah Hamrick on her blog. Please check it out!

♪ The River and the Road – The River and the Road – Elisabeth ♪

signature

4 thoughts on “Living in the Present…

  1. What you’re thinking is quite normal – about looking down the road expecting a grand future. If we didn’t, there would be little reason to get up each morning (and put up with NYC- yesterday at lunch outside my building a cop was putting out a trash can fire with an extinguisher- I’ve been commuting since 1994 and hadn’t seen that!). The good news is you’ve recognized that to live in the present is better than always looking forward. The present is that – it’s a gift. And realizing it is a good sign that you are maturing. Think of other people you know. Some of them won’t realize this until it’s way too late. One warning. College might be the best time of our life. Mark my words: It’ll be over in a blink; end of senior year is approaching like a freight train..

    • Gah! Don’t say that! (Although it is very true.)

      I think you’re right about it being a matter of maturity. I think when you’re young, you think you have all this time in front of you–time to plan and make plans–and that the present is just a place to be until you get things figured out.

      But it seems very depressing not to at least try and enjoy every moment of your life.

      Thanks for stopping by and the comment!

  2. I can definitely relate! I’m always thinking about the past or dreaming about my future. It kind of upsets me too, because in the future I might be looking back at now and wishing I wouldn’t have taken it for granite.

    I’m thinking about visiting my sister in Manhattan the end of this month. I’ll let you know if I do!

Leave a Reply

