Taking Time to Breathe…

I like big projects and solving big problems. It’s in my nature to take on something overwhelming just for the challenge (and then I usually take on a few more so I know that the first success wasn’t just a fluke).

But I often forget that we all need some time to relax and to do something we enjoy. I like to walk a lot, so I find even if I have something I need to do, even just a ten minute walk can help so much. I also like soft, acoustic music I can get lost in (like the silky, smooth voice of Iron & Wine or the haunting melodies of the Fleet Foxes). I play my guitar and annoy everyone in the dorm. I like to make a cup of tea, pick a book to read for fun, turn on my heating pad, and forget the world for a while.

I think it’s a good thing to be driven, because if you’re not, you’re limited to what you actually want to get done. However, some time to chill and to do your favorite things is essential for your well being. It can be especially difficult for writers, because our work tends to follow us wherever we go. There is no “off” switch at the end of the day.

relax

How do you relax? What do you do when you feel as though you’ve taken on too much? (Or, you know, midterm rolls around.)

Oh, and I wrote a guest post for Go Teen Writers. You can check it out here.

♪ William Fitzsimmons – The Sparrow and the Crow – Please Forgive Me (Song of the Crow) ♪

signature

2 thoughts on “Taking Time to Breathe…

Leave a Reply

