When the Decision You Have to Make is Big…

I thought I had gotten much better about making decisions.

When I was a kid, I couldn’t do it. I would hem and haw and pace back and forth—unable to make a decision about the littlest thing (like signing up for ballet classes for another year). I was always afraid of making “the wrong choice,” and it kind of paralyzed me.

As I got older, I got better. I decided I wanted to publish my book, I wanted to study abroad, I wanted to move to New York and try something else. I was okay with making all these decisions. I may have doubted them, but I always made them firmly, knowing it was what I wanted.

I’m running into another big decision within the next few months, and I’m having a really hard time making it. Graduation is rolling around, and I have to decide what I am going to do afterward. Stay in New York and get a job in publishing? Move back home and work and write? Or something else…

Unlike decisions I’ve made before, this one isn’t clear. There’s no particular “I want this” moment. I don’t know what I want, and that frustrates me.

I know eventually I will make a decision and that I need to just trust that everything will turn out okay. Life has a way of working itself out.

How do you make big life decisions? Any tips to help me make mine?

♪ Treetop Flyers – To Bury the Past – EP – Is It All Worth It? ♪

signature

One thought on “When the Decision You Have to Make is Big…

  1. Gosh, I’m the exact same way. I’m also at a point in my life where I’m trying to make a big decision. I actually would rather someone else tell me what I should do and trust their judgement rather than my own. However, every time I’m at a point like where I am now, I pray about it for a while and eventually God reveals to me what it is I’m supposed to do or not do. I either have peace about a certain decision or the complete and total opposite.

    Both of what you mentioned–writing at home or getting a job in the publishing industry–sounds appealing. I’m sure you’ll make the right one. =)

    Tessa

Leave a Reply

