Sticking to It…

I always have known that I wanted to be a writer.

But that doesn’t mean I haven’t doubted myself and my choice to do it.

Sometimes, you get bogged down in knowing what the odds are, or if you get a terrible review or another rejection letter. These things are out of your control, and you really have no choice but to keep pushing on.

We also get burned out. After this semester, the last thing on my mind was revising my current manuscript–I was way too worn out to even want to write.

One thing I’ve learned is that we all need some time to heal, to recharge, to focus on the important things in life. I’ve been reading some excellent books, watching creative movies, and thinking a lot. Last night, I had the urge to just sit down and write again. Remembering that I can’t really live without words and the way they make me feel.

Have you ever had a point where you’ve questioned what you are doing? How did you push through?

Image

2 thoughts on “Sticking to It…

  1. Honestly, I find reading other people’s blogs and talking to others about the industry the best way to ‘push through,’ — there are so many of us out there – the published, the trying-to-get-published and the sad-unpublished – that we have to use that strength to keep pushing forward. All the best, Alexa, and know there is an entire community rooting for you.

    • Thanks so much! Your support means a ton.

      I think you’re right. Talking about it with other people who are going through the same thing can help. Even for published authors the industry is difficult right now–even established writers are having to “push through it” in order to keep writing.

      Thanks for stopping by and thanks for the follow.

Leave a Reply

