“Purple Moon” Blog Tour…

A few years ago, I got an email from someone who had read my blog and wanted to know about being a young writer. I emailed Tessa back, and it actually started a fun friendship that I’ve loved having in my life. The world could use more young writers. I’m happy to say that Tessa has published her first novel this fall called Purple Moon. Make sure you check it out!

Print

Selena’s life isn’t turning out to be the fairy tale she imagined as a kid. That hope seemed to vanish long ago when her dad kicked her and her mom out of the house. This summer might finally hold the chance of a new beginning for Selena … but having to live with her snobby cousin in Lake Lure, NC while waiting for her mom to get out of rehab wasn’t how Selena was planning on spending her summer. She soon begins to wonder why she committed to give up her “bad habits” for this.

Things don’t seem too bad, though. Especially when Selena gains the attention of the cute neighbor next door. But when her best friend back home in Brooklyn desperately needs her, a secret that’s been hidden from Selena for years is revealed, and when she becomes a target for one of her cousin’s nasty pranks, she finds herself having to face the scars from her past and the memories that come along with them. Will she follow her mom’s example in running away, or trust that God still has a fairy tale life written just for her?

Find “Purple Moon” on Amazon

Find “Purple Moon” on Goodreads

Find “Purple Moon” at Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas

Like “Purple Moon” on Facebook

Is It Okay To Be an Introvert?

(The previous fact or fiction was FALSE.)

I’ve always been more on the quiet side—which is strange, considering the fact that I come from a very loud and talkative family. I never really thought of being quiet as something to dislike about myself until I reached middle school.

It was then when I realized that it was difficult for me to make friends, carry on a conversation, etc. I started to completely resent my personality. Not necessarily because I didn’t like being the type of person who would prefer to stay home on the weekends, but because being quiet was so frowned upon.

It didn’t help that my older sister—who was in high school at the time—had the most perfect personality. Everyone loved her, especially adults. I resented the fact that I couldn’t have the kind of likeable personality that people constantly complimented my sister on. But more than that, I despised the fact that being born an extrovert automatically made someone gain more approval than introverts.

I used to think that being born an introvert was equivalent to being born not attractive, and I felt as if I was the only one who “suffered” with this “disability”.

It wasn’t until I started finding positive aspects of my personality did I realize that society was wrong, that being born introvert was not a negative thing, nor should it be considered a social “disability”.

I don’t remember ever deciding to have my protagonist, Selena, be an introvert. However, I wanted to be able to relate to her and in the process give other teenagers the opportunity to relate to her as well. By reading PURPLE MOON, I hope other introverts will realize that they are not alone and that their personality is not something to be ashamed of.  Selena is an artist, and I believe that the artists who are introverted happen to make the best art, only because they allow themselves to daydream more than extroverts might. Introverts have the advantage of being able to easily shut out the world as they tap into their creativity.

In fact, many of the best artists, inventors, writers, etc. are/were introverts, including: C.S. Lewis, William Shakespeare, Katie Couric, Albert Einstein, Abraham Lincoln, Thomas Edison, Oprah Winfrey, Bill Gates, etc.

God made you the way you are for a reason. Refuse to give into the lie that in order to be likable, you have to be outgoing. If I would have faked an outgoing personality just for acceptance, I wouldn’t be where I am today. I wouldn’t have homeschooled or stayed home most weekends, therefore I wouldn’t have had the time to write PURPLE MOON.

Embrace your personality. Don’t resent it. Who knows, your name might just end up on a list of famous introverts in the future. =)

~ ~ ~

Are you introverted or extroverted? Have you ever been ashamed of your personality? Why do you think that being extroverted is so looked up to in today’s society?

12 Fact or Fiction

 

“Purple Moon” Prize Pack!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

“Purple Moon” Blog Tour Stops:

Don’t forget to stop by the blog tour’s next stop to increase your chances of winning the PURPLE MOON Prize Pack!

Wednesday, September 18th: Purple Moon Blog Tour Launch: The Story Behind the Story: Christ is Write

Thursday, September 19th: 5 Facts about Purple Moon: Kim Vandel

Friday, September 20th: Character Sketches + Character Cast Contest: Who YA Reading?

Monday, September 23rd: Behind the Scenes: Why I Chose Lake Lure: Words to Dreams

Tuesday, September 24th: Release Day! Selena’s Diary Entry + Creative Photo Contest: Writing for Young Adults

Wednesday, September 25th: Austin’s Diary Entry: Amy’s Book Blog

Thursday, September 26th: Q & A: Notebook Sisters

 Friday, September 27th: Purple Moon Playlist: Ashley Carr  

Monday, September 30th: Purple Moon Excerpt: Wooden Swings: Heather Brice   

Tuesday, October 1st: Dealing With Anxiety—The Spiritual IV: The Destiny of One

Wednesday, October 2nd: Q & A: Saved by Grace

Thursday, October 3rd: Behind the Scenes: Name Meanings: Labor Not In Vain

Friday, October 4th: Is It Okay To Be An Introvert?: Alex Inks It

Monday, October 7th: Story Behind the Cover Art: Candy Apple Books

Tuesday, October 8th: Purple Moon Excerpt: Cherishing the Sunrise: Author Casey Bond

Wednesday, October 9th: Q & A: Writing While the Rice Boils

Thursday, October 10th: Behind the Scenes: Christian Human Videos: Writing in Wonderland  

Friday, October 11th: Teenage Substance Abuse: Emily Rachelle  

Monday, October 14th: Behind the Scenes: Lake Lure Academy of the Arts: Worthy 2 Read

Tuesday, October 15th: My Middle & High School Experience: Hello Highlights

Wednesday, October 16th: Purple Moon Excerpt: Meatless Turkey Sandwich: Diane Estrella  

Thursday, October 17th: Body Image Laurel’s Leaves

Friday, October 18th: Behind the Scenes: Brewer’s Coffee: A Splash of Ink

Monday, October 21st: Purple Moon Excerpt: Farkle at the Park: A Slightly Nerdy Bookworm

Tuesday, October 22nd: Teenage Dating: Tell The World

Wednesday, October 23rd: Q & A: The YA Book Stack

 Thursday, October 24th: How Much of My Personal Life Did I Put Into “Purple Moon”?: Read For Your Future

Friday, October 25th: Fairy tales & Happy Endings + Contest Winners!: Inspiring Daring

Author Headshot_Tessa Hall2

 

Tessa Emily Hall is a 19-year-old author of Purple Moon, her YA Christian fiction novel to be published September 2013 by Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas. She is also the editor over the faith department for Temperance Magazine, a column writer for Whole Magazine, a contributing writer for More To Be, as well as the PR for God of Moses Entertainment. Other than writing, Tessa enjoys acting, music, Starbucks, and her Teacup Shih Tzu—who is named Brewer after a character in her book, as well as her love for coffee.

Website:  www.tessaemilyhall.com
Blog: www.christiswrite.blogspot.com
Twitter: www.twitter.com/tessaemily
Facebook: www.facebook.com/tessa.h16

signature

2 thoughts on ““Purple Moon” Blog Tour…

Leave a Reply

